August 18, 2017

Broken Hope – Mutilated and Assimilated album review

4.5 Stars out of 5

Chicago’s gore godfathers Broken Hope came back in 2012 / 13 with a new lineup, lots of touring, and the new album OMEN OF DISEASE. The album was well received by bloodthirsty fans (including myself!) and was sufficiently brutal, but without original members Joe Ptacek (RIP), Ryan Stanek (RIP), and Brian Griffin it just didn’t sound like a BH album. 4 years and another lineup change later, Broken Hope is back with MUTILATED AND ASSIMILATED. How does this new one stack up with its predecessor and the classic back catalog?

The album is a monster! I am very happy to say MUTILIATED AND ASSIMILATED is the band’s best output since 1997’s LOATHING. Everything is tighter and sicker than it was on OMEN OF DISEASE. Let’s start with Damian Leski’s (Gorgasm) vocals. He is lower and more mucusy here and there are fewer overdubs which give his guttural growls more of a live feel. He never tries to copy Joe’s approach, but his style is closer to Joe’s than it was on OMEN. Riffs and solos are more interesting and biting than before, and there are some catchy hooks that make the songs memorable. Opener “The Meek Shall Inherit Shit” is a good example of this. Newcomer Matt Szlachta (sine 2014) handles the leads well and makes things sound a little nastier and grungier. Jeremy Wagner and Matt have a good chemistry together and I dig the classic BH song structures. Drumming is straight ahead and punishing throughout, I love how the intro for “The Bunker” goes from machine gun fire right into Mike Miczek’s blast beat, awesome transition! Bass is solid and Diego Soria (joined band in 2014) does a decent job, no real drop off here. All of the songs are good and have their moments. In addition to the songs already mentioned, my favorites include the title track, “Blast Frozen”, “Incest Outback Clan”, and “The Necropants”.  Final track is exactly what it looks like, a combo of the classics “Swamped in Gore” and Gorehog” that started all this sickness back in 1991! Cool tribute fellas!

MUTLILATED AND ASSIMILATED is one of the best releases of 2017. It is a return to form for Broken Hope and I highly recommend this album to fans of extreme metal, young and old.


  1. The Meek Shall Inherit Shit
  2. The Bunker
  3. Mutilated and Assimilated
  4. Incest Outback Clan
  5. Malicious Meatholes
  6. Blast Frozen
  7. The Necropants
  8. The Carrion Eaters
  9. Russian Sleep Experiment
  10. Hell’s Handpuppets
  11. Beneath Antarctic Ice
  12. Swamped in Gorehog (S.I.G 25th anniversary tribute)


Broken Hope is:

Jeremy Wagner – Guitars

Damian Leski – Vocals

Mike Miczek – Drums

Matt Szlachta – Guitars

Diego Soria – Bass


Buy album:



Band contact:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *