April 4, 2016

Prong – X-No Absolutes album review

3 out of 5 Stars

Ever since I first saw Prong open for Ozzy Osbourne in 1992, I’ve been a big fan. Their blend of groove, thrash, punk, and industrial always appealed to me and they are a killer live band. Also, frontman Tommy Victor is a really cool dude, got to meet him once after a show. A friend of mine once called Prong the unsung heroes of metal and I couldn’t have said it better myself. Since 2012 they have been on a tear, putting out great material like CARVED INTO STONE and RUINING LIVES. Now we have Prong’s new release X – NO ABSOLUTES, their 10th studio album. How does it compare to their recent stuff and classics like BEG TO DIFFER and PROVE YOU WRONG? Is the edge and catchiness still there? The answer is yes and no, and I’ll explain why.

X – NO ABSOLUTES starts very strongly with a four punch combination of groove, anger, and superb riffing. I love “Ultimate Authority”, “Sense of Ease”, “Without Words”, and “Cut and Dry”. All of the classic Prong elements are there and the songs just flow perfectly into one another. Tommy Victor still sounds great and his lyrics are always interesting and introspective. The first four songs all have the bite I’m looking for in a Prong album. Then the album shifts with the title track “No Absolutes”, moving into a more melodic, radio friendly commercial sound. “Do Nothing” is even a bigger example of this and the album never fully gets back on track after that. For every heavier song like “In Spite of Hindrances” there are commercial tunes like “With Dignity”. With Prong, I want that punch of the face of riffs and yelling or a foreboding, moody feeling and unfortunately about half of the new album doesn’t have that.

X – NO ABSOLUTES is a decent Prong album, but it isn’t as consistent or as good as CARVED INTO STONE or RUINING LIVES and it can’t touch their classic material. Recommended for fans of groove and thrash with a melodic tinge.

  1. Ultimate Authority
  2. Sense of Ease
  3. Without Words
  4. Cut and Dry
  5. No Absolutes
  6. Do Nothing
  7. Belief System
  8. Soul Sickness
  9. In Spite of Hindrances
  10. Ice Runs Through My Veins
  11. Worth Pursuing
  12. With Dignity
  13. Universal Law


Prong is:

Tommy Victor- Guitar, Vocals

Jason Christopher – Bass

Arturo Cruz – Drums


Buy Album: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_1_8?url=search-alias%3Dpopular&field-keywords=prong+no+absolutes&sprefix=prong+no%2Caps%2C193

Band Contact: http://prongmusic.com/contact


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *